Skip to content


April 29, 2010

BARCODE: 730003725722

That Juan MacLean is just a bundle of contradictions. Here he’s created one of the year’s best mix CDs—and not just a proper party mix, which it certainly is, but even what you might call an “important” mix, a timely lesson in the enduring spirit of house music—and how does he choose to describe the process of putting it together? As an “existential tailspin.”

“I really wasn’t joking in the liner notes when I said that in the six months I knew I was going to do this mix, I spent most of the time agonizing over the relevance of doing a DJ mix in 2010,” says MacLean, a cheerful neurotic who’s clearly serious about his craft. “So much about DJ-ing has changed in the last 10 years. It seems that anyone at home can make their own mix, whether they’re a proper DJ or not. Which begs the question, why bother putting them out at this point?”

“So at the end of the day I just came back to where I had started, which was basically wanting to do something that was representative of where I’m coming from in producing my own music, and also focusing on the current house music scene.”

That’s right: house music. Pumping, sweaty house music at its purest, from the churning pianos to the chopped-up vocals. Surprising? Maybe: DFA, the label MacLean calls home, is best known for post-punkish indie dance, and label co-founder James Murphy’s dance-floor tastes run mostly to vintage disco. But MacLean is undoubtedly DFA’s resident house aficionado, something you might have guessed from his anthemic 2008 single “Happy House,” a homage to ’90s piano house.

And ultimately, MacLean’s DJ Kicks is all about achieving that universal vibe, unconcerned with populist trends or trainspotters’ disdain.

A love-letter to house music penned by one of the music’s most sincere (and well-schooled) admirers, it’s a sweet, sweaty, wide-ranging set that wraps you up in chugging grooves. At a time of proliferating podcasts and fly-by-night mixtapes, it’s a welcome change of pace: a mix that makes its case the old-fashioned way, one perfect blend at a time.


1. Juan MacLean – Feliz Casa (Ian Breno Dub)
2. Still Going – Spaghetti Circus
3. Andre Crom & Luca Doobie – Ebony
4. 6th Burough Project – Planets (The Revenge Lost Groove)
5. A+O – Take Me
6. Rick Wilhite – Get On Up!! (Theo Parrish’ Late Dub)
7. Florian Meindl – Here Today Gone Tomorrow
8. Armando – Don’t Take It (Thomos Edit)
9. Jee Day – Like a Child
10. Giom – I Know You Were Right
11. Alex Niggemann & Superlounge – Chip Chip
12. Manuel Sahagun – Pieces Of Me
13. Sonny Foderra – Everybody Get On The Decks
14. Danny Howells – Laid Out (Fully Horizontal Mix)
15. Shit Robot – Simple Things (Todd Terje Version)
16. The Juan MacLean – Feel So Good (DJ-KiCKS)
17. Rick Wilhite – Get On Up!! (Theo Parrish’ Late Dub)
18. Juan MacLean – Feliz Casa (Frankel’s Rhodes Workout)


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: